Hopper wins close gallop

Ed Hopper (Maxxis 4 RT) took a tight win in the senior race that started proceedings at the Sunny Rhyl Circuit Races 2 on Sunday 2/7/17. Martin Hillman (Velo M) and George Higgins (BNECC) were second and third within two bike lengths of the winner. Highlights of the youth racing were Finley Douglas’ win in the u14’s ahead of James Satoor (Mid Shropshire Wheelers) and Edward Woodhead, a win each for Salt Ayre Cog Set Jarrett brothers, and Niamh Cliff taking the u8 girls. It was sunny too!


31 January 2017  Update

A revised 2017 Club Event calendar has been uploaded to the Calendar  page.  Please refer to the Time Trial page for updated information on the management of the joint Rhyl CC and VC Melyd Time Trial League this year.

Briefly, the changes for this year are as follows :-

1/ We have created a new 50 mile TT course based on the Denbigh to Ruthin road ( A525 ) as used for the 10 mile TT ( D23/10 ) and the the 25 mile TT ( D1/25).  This will be run on a Sunday morning and will replace the 25 mile Sunday morning event from 2016.

2/ in recognition of the popularity of the hill climb events there are more of these this year. A longer course has been created which starts near to the cycle bridge crossing the A55. It joins into the the D0/11 course and finishes at the traditional D0/11 finish at the top of Rhuallt hill.

3/ 5 mile TT’s will no longer be run in the early or late parts of the season when the light conditions in the evening can be very poor.

Please pay your club fees in good time if you want to earn League Points. If you intend to join up by paying a Club Official in cash or by sending a cheque to your Club Secretary, please allow at least a week for them to load up your details.  Joining with cash ‘on the night’ is OK too but what if there is no Club Official present to take receipt – don’t risk it ! It will cost you a quid but the best way to join by far is via the   BC website.

Not a member of a CTT affiliated Club ?  =  no ride. You will not be insured.  You can check if your club is CTT affiliated here  CTT clubs

No verified Rhyl CC or VC Melyd membership ? = no League Points.

Happy training and good health. The first TT of the TT season is the D0/11 Hill Climb at Rhuallt on Tuesday April 11th. Sign on between 18.00 and 18.30.


Our annual Xmas Dinner run takes place on Sunday 11th December 2016, meet at The Kings Head Rhuddlan at 09.15 for an arrival at The White Horse Hendrerwydd at approx 12 noon. Please contact chairman James Morris with your orders by text or phone message or on the Facebook page (‘Rhyl Cycling Club’)  tel 07971227250

Menu here:



Next Thursday (24/11/16) we are holding our AGM  at the Kings Head pub in the centre of Rhuddlan. Start is 7.30pm and all are very welcome.

8th September 2016


After the closing event of the 2016 Marsh Tracks series at Rhyl, Finley Douglas, Isaac Lawrence and Rhos-On-Sea CC’s Will Neale receive their overall awards on the podium from Paul Rutt. Next year these youngsters will be riding at u14 (Youth B) level for the first time, exciting times!

29th May 2016

Flint veteran bike rider Alan Forrester finally achieved his main target since he took up cycling following a switch from running, gaining the British Road Race Championship (65-69 age category) on Sunday in Buckinghamshire. The Rhyl Cycling Club/Rhyl Bike Hub man hit the finish line first after a gruelling 62 mile race in sweltering heat, and had to ride conservatively due to a mechanical problem. The RNLI lifeboat manager had only two heavy gears to select of his normal 20 from the early stages.