Club History

The club was formed in 1978 by four friends, Brian Hodgson, Tony Bailey, Richard Redfearn and Roy Noon, and amalgamated almost immediately with the Gryphon CC, a youth club based in the village of Pen-y-Ffordd and run by Bill Twigg. Bill went on to become club president after many years of voluntary work for the club. Brian won the Grand Vets title in the famous Three Peaks Cyclo Cross which still runs to this day. Over the ensuing decades ‘The Rhyl’ was a major club in North Wales, running many amateur and professional events in town and country venues, with many class riders in numerous disciplines.  It changed names slightly (from Rhyl Road Club) in the mid-nineties. A proud moment was in 2008 when we obtained ‘Clubmark’ status for being a model club in terms of how we structure, organise and provide activities for our members, particularly for youth.

The club have had several champion cyclists riding in the ‘orange’, a world mountain bike orienteering champion, Sarah Bayliss (Veteran Womens Gold Medalist, 2010) and Alan Forrester (British National Road and Circuit Race Champion 60+ 2014, 2015, 2016). Richard Hughes (now a Cheshire physiotherapist) crossed the line in club colours in 1989 as winner of the UK National Junior Road Race Championship in Lincoln and National Junior Pursuit titles, arguably the most prestigious victories in our 30 plus years existence so far by a rider of ‘the Rhyl’. One of our most famous former members is none other than (Sir) Dave Brailsford, who masterminded Bradley Wiggins and British Cycling’s climb to the pinnacle of world road cycling, the Tour De France in 2012, and continuing on with Chris Froome’s repeat successes and Team Sky. As well as riding in the World Cyclo-Cross Championships (Zurich, Switzerland) for GB in 1967, former chairman and club stalwart Maurice Broadbent (1944-2006) won a Welsh Veterans Cyclo-Cross title during his many years in our club. Former pros such as Phil Evans and Paul Gerrard also rode with great distinction throughout their stay with the club. Denbigh’s Sion Jones won a GB Schoolboy Track Championship before going on to an international racing career. Gareth Turgoose won the Welsh Schoolboy Circuit Race Championship in 1984. We have welcomed other nationalities into the club who have gone on to success whilst with us, young Canadian Paul Kotyk won the Welsh Schoolboy Cyclo-Cross title (1992)and South African doctor Richard de Villiers (whilst working at Ysbyty Glan Clwyd) took the Welsh Triathlon Championship as Rhyl RC competitors. Innes Taylor ( a former Ruthin RC rider) memorably took a fourth place in the Tour Of the Cotswolds in the late eighties, here is a report on another unsuccessful attempt in what was the equivalent of a current day Premier Calendar event series (‘Star Trophy’):

In recent times, Gwyn Lovibond became a regular wearer of the Welsh jersey in junior stage races at home and abroad in 2013. In 2018 Rhyl High School pupil Finley Douglas sprinted clear to victory in the u14 boys Welsh Champion ship in Aberystwyth.

All, and we mean all, ages are welcome. We have something for everyone. Check out our ‘Results’ and ‘News’ sections for the latest details and up to date news on our activities and successes.

On 8th January 2006 the club was deeply affected by a devastating incident, widely  reported throughout the UK at the time, a better example of which is here: 

Many individual club members and members of the cycling ‘family’ came together determined to keep the club and sport going through projects and events with the incident in mind, and their legacy today is a club still thriving and continuing to promote their passion for two wheels.

Here is a video that has ‘re-surfaced’ recently thanks to one of those original members, Brian Hodgson, who, as a keen photographer, has placed on record some magic moments from the past. Enjoy the (4 part) Rhuddlan Gala Road Race 1985!